For the First Time, EU Sanctions in Response to Cyberattacks: Enhanced Deterrence Efforts by Western Countries?


The European Union announced restrictive measures against individuals and entities from China, North Korea, and Russia. The move, the first of its kind, indicates increasing cooperation among Western countries, intended to relay a deterrent message to potential attackers – and prevent future cyberattacks.

On July 30, 2020, the European Union decided to impose restrictive measures on nine individuals and entities from China, North Korea, and Russia for their responsibility or involvement in cyberattacks. The sanctions include a travel ban, asset freeze, and prohibition to make funds available to these individuals and entities. On the political level, it seems that Western countries have managed, despite other differences, to demonstrate a coordinated approach in this field and act in cooperation. From the perspective of international cyber policy, this step seems to be in line with previous measures taken by Western countries and by the European Union itself, as well as with the cyber deterrence strategy advanced in recent years by the United States. The European Union may be seeking to send a deterrent message against cyberattacks, in particular during the Covid-19 crisis.

Click here to read the full article by Adv. Vered Zlaikha and was published on INSS- The Institute for National Security Studies.